ELECTION DAY: Trump wins in Kansas as Biden takes Colorado

Via Mehrnews
Via Mehrnews

As polls close across the United States, US President Donald Trump, seeking re-election, and Democratic candidate Joe Biden have won early victories in several states. Indian Express reported that all eyes are now on the key battleground states, including Florida, North Carolina, Georgia, Texas, and Arizona, the results of which are crucial for both competitors.

Alaska, Arkansas, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia, Wyoming, Indiana, and South Carolina have so far been won by Trump. Democratic-leaning states such as Colorado, Columbia, Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Virginia have been taken over by Biden.

The U.S. is heading for a historic election with the largest turnout of voters in a century. According to the United States Election Project, the turnout was more than what we saw in the 2016 polls in at least six states: Colorado, Hawaii, Montana, Oregon, Texas, and Washington State.

The latest early voting tally in the US shows that before Election Day, almost 102 million Americans cast their votes, an eye-popping total that represents 73 of the 2016 presidential election's total turnout. During the COVID-19 pandemic, early voting, whether in person or by mail-in or absentee ballot, swelled as voters sought the safety and convenience it provides. Kentucky, where nearly 13 times as many voters cast their ballots early as in 2016, has seen the greatest gains.

Earlier in the day, Americans were seen voting in large numbers in one of the most bitterly divisive elections in decades in which Democrat Joe Biden challenged incumbent Republican Donald Trump. This year, some 239 million individuals are eligible to vote. In some states, the mail-in ballots could take days or weeks to be counted, meaning that in the hours after polls close on Tuesday local time, a winner might not be declared.

Polls will close across the US on Tuesday, anywhere before 9 pm local time, at different times.

Publish : 2020-11-04 09:39:00

Give Your Comments