Iowa Governor loosens guns restrictions in her state

Kim Reynolds attends a press conference on 31st of March. Photo: Iowa PBS| Youtube

Tighter Gun Laws?

Well, Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds has different plans. 

The legislators of the state of Iowa and Governor Kim Reynolds have decided to reform the gun laws in the state by loosening the laws.

Gov. Reynolds signed a bill approved by the legislature making it a law, on Sunday, which will allow individuals to buy and carry handguns without a permit.

The legislation named “House File 756”, which has been backed by NRA, will take effect from July. It eliminates the requirement for law-abiding Iowans to obtain a permit to purchase a handgun from private non-licensed sources.

People no longer have to have a permit to carry guns, according to the law.

However, individuals will still need to go through an instant background check at the time of following the federal provisions, according to the law. 

Those who fail to abide by the law will face a charge D felony, according to which one can be prisoned up to five years. It will become a felony if a person sells, rents, or loans a firearm to someone the seller “knows or reasonably should know” isn’t legally allowed to get a gun or is intoxicated.

Governor Reynolds issued a statement saying the law will ensure that firearms don't go in the hands of the wrong individual while still protecting the second amendment rights of the citizens.

“This law also takes greater steps to inform law enforcement about an individual’s mental illness helping ensure firearms don’t end up in the wrong hands,” Reynolds said in a statement following the approval of the bill. “We will never be able to outlaw or prevent every single bad actor from getting a gun, but what we can do is ensure law-abiding citizens have full access to their constitutional rights while keeping Iowans safe.” 

The National Rifle Association, NRA, has welcomed the law and applauded the Iowa government for the passing of the law.

Iowa has become the 19th state to remove the permit requirement to keep guns, according to the law. The other 18 states to have remove these restrictions are:- Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

The democrats have opposed the bill saying it is reckless and "it disregards the safety."

Publish : 2021-04-04 01:23:00

Give Your Comments