House Dems who challenged 2016 election results escalate fight with Republicans behind 2020 challenges

One House member says 2017 objection 'not the same' as 2021 objections

Fox News

Photo: From Fox News

Democrats have blasted Republican lawmakers who objected to electoral votes for President-elect Joe Biden, accusing them of trying to overturn the 2020 election, but several of these critics objected to electoral votes when President Trump was elected.

In January 2017, Reps. Jamie Raskin, D-Md., Pramila Jayapal, D-Wash., Barbara Lee, D-Calif., Sheila Jackson Lee, D-Texas, Raúl Grijalva, D-Ariz., Maxine Waters, D-Calif., and Jim McGovern, D-Mass., all objected to electoral votes for Trump. Now nearly all of them have joined the chorus against those who objected to votes for Biden.

Waters spoke out against the Republican objectors before the objections were formally made.

"Trump and Congressional Republicans continue to display their disdain for the Constitution by challenging the Electoral College vote count while the world watches in horror," Waters said in a statement, noting that Trump had already failed in his legal challenges. "Today, some Republicans in the House and Senate will make a mockery of our democracy in their attempts to undo the will of the people."

Publish : 2021-01-19 23:57:00

Give Your Comments