Russia releases final roster of national team for 2020 Euro Cup

© Mikhail Japaridze/TASS

The Russian national football team's coaching staff, lead by Head Coach Stanislav Cherchesov, confirmed the squad's final roster for the 2020 UEFA Euro Cup fixtures, which begin later this month.

Twenty-six players were chosen to the national team's final squad live on Russian television channel Match-TV.

Dynamo Moscow FC defender Roman Yevgenyev, Kazan Rubin FC defender Ilya Samoshnikov, Zenit St. Petersburg FC goalkeeper Andrei Lunev, and Dynamo Moscow FC midfielder Arsen Zakharyan, who had previously left the team's training camp in Austria after being diagnosed with tonsillitis, did not make the list.

  • Goalkeepers Anton Shunin (Dynamo FC), Matvei Safonov (Krasnodar FC), and Yury Dyupin (Dynamo FC) are on the final roster of the Russian national football squad for the 2020 UEFA Euro Cup (Rubin FC).
  • Georgy Dzhikiya (Spartak FC), Igor Diveyev, Mario Fernandes (both Lokomotiv FC), Yury Zhirkov, Vyacheslav Karavayev (both Zenit FC), Fydor Kudryashov (Turkey's Antalyaspor FC), and Andrei Semyonov (both Antalyaspor FC) have been chosen as the team's defenders (Akhmat FC).
  • Dmitry Barinov and Rifat Zhemaletdinov (both from Lokomotiv FC); Alexander Golovin (AS Monaco); Daniil Fomin (Dynamo FC); Roman Zobnin (Spartak FC); Maxim Mukhin (CSKA FC); Alexei Ionov (Kranodar FC); Daler Kuzyayev, Andrei Mostovoi, Magomed Ozdoyev (all from Zenit FC); Denis Makarov
  • Artyom Dzyuba (Zenit FC), Anton Zabolotny (CSKA FC), and Alexander Sobolev will be the team's attackers (Spartak FC).

The Russian national football team will play a friendly match against the Bulgarian national team in Moscow on June 5 before the start of the UEFA Euro Cup.

Russia will begin its UEFA Euro Cup campaign by playing group stage matches against the national teams of Belgium, Finland, and Denmark.

As a precautionary measure against the continuous global spread of the new coronavirus, UEFA stated on March 17, 2020 that the 2020 UEFA Euro Cup would be postponed for exactly one year.

The championship was postponed for June 11 to July 11, 2021, and St. Petersburg, Russia's second-largest city, was chosen. It was one of the 12 locations in Europe that were first considered to host the European Championship matches. Three group stage matches and one quarterfinal match have been awarded to St. Petersburg for the 2020 UEFA Euro Cup.

However, on April 23, St. Petersburg was granted the opportunity to host three additional UEFA Euro Cup matches after Dublin, Ireland, and Bilbao, Spain, cited anti-COVID-19 measures in withdrawing from the organization of the European football championship's games.

At a meeting of the UEFA Executive Committee in Lausanne, Switzerland, on December 6, 2012, it was decided to conduct the 2020 Euro Cup in many European countries rather than in one or two host countries, in honor of the tournament's 60th anniversary.

The rescheduled 2020 UEFA Euro Cup will be held in 11 cities, including London, England; Munich, Germany; Rome, Italy; Baku, Azerbaijan; St. Petersburg, Russia; Bucharest, Romania; Amsterdam, The Netherlands; Budapest, Hungary; Glasgow, Scotland; Copenhagen, Denmark; and Seville, Spain.

Publish : 2021-06-03 10:56:00

Give Your Comments