Burmese democrats distrust ASEAN's five-point agreement

Picture Courtesy: The irrawaddy
Picture Courtesy: The irrawaddy

Democrats in Burma have expressed distrust of the five-point agreement issued by the emergency meeting of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).

They expressed doubts that the five-point agreement would be implemented as a "cover-up of the injustice and atrocities perpetrated against the people by Burma's dictatorial military government."

The 10 Southeast Asian countries include Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Burma, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam. Some ASEAN countries, such as Burma, have military governments.

In the past, Burmese military rulers have often attended various ASEAN conferences. That is why the military ruler of Burma, Junta, has good relations with ASEAN countries and pro-democracy leaders. The Burmese democrats fear that the 'reflection' of that will be in the implementation of ASEAN's decision.

The dictators in the countries of ASEAN fear that if democracy is restored in Burma, it could be a wake-up call for the public of the dictated region.

Although China is not included in ASEAN's 10 member states, as it is a communist-ruled country and has a trade partnership with Burmese military officials, China's attitude towards Burma is no different from that of ASEAN's military-ruled member states.

Some dictators of the ASEAN region including China do not want democracy to return to Burma. The Burmese democrats have serious concerns that the Burmese people are trying to make a deal out of many agreements and excuses.

The Burmese democrats will surely achieve their goal shortly if all the Nafsi people unite and carry out a democratic movement by clearly understanding the inhumane politics and cruelty of such selfish countries that have become obstacles to the democratic movement in Burma.

Publish : 2021-04-27 15:59:00

Give Your Comments