Eight African countries under travel red list in Malaysia over fears of Omicron

An airplane parked at the KLIA2 airport. Photo: Muhammad Faiz

Malaysia will temporarily bar travelers from eight African nations due to concerns about the spread of Omicron.

Minister of Health Khairy Jamaluddin stated that the limitation is effective immediately and applies to travelers from South Africa, where the novel COVID-19 form was initially identified, and Botswana, Eswatini, and Lesotho Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe, and Malawi. There have been no instances of Omicron recorded in Malaysia yet.

"This variety has the potential to propagate far more rapidly than prior variants. It has already showed a significant possibility of being more transmissible," the Rembau MP, 45, stated during today's COVID-19 media conference. He made no indication of the duration of the ban.

Malaysians, permanent residents, and holders of long-term passes are exempt from the travel ban, albeit they must undergo 14 days of quarantine upon arriving in Malaysia.

He also recommended the elderly and immunocompromised postpone overseas travel plans and avoid crowds until further notice in a Twitter statement.

Publish : 2021-12-01 17:40:00

Give Your Comments